Breaking News!

Interview with Ryan Shuck, Frontman for Julien-K and Adema

Sofa King Cool caught up with Ryan Shuck and we discussed the new Julien-K album Harmonic Disruptor, the rescheduled tour dates, he announced that they are already writing a new album during his downtime on Quarantine, He confirmed the Adema tour dates are still a go and we can expect new music from them, we talked about the costs of pushing back tour dates due to pandemic, preparing on how concerts will be in the future, the precautions for meet and greets, Starting a Patreon for the fans, How Musicians are taking losses and their is no bail out for them, how his restaurants are holding up during the pandemic, and what is next for both bands



harmonic disruptor

1. Harmonic Disruptor
2. Cross
3. Stronger Without You
4. Lies Like Fire
5. Shut Down Your Soul
6. As The Sirens Call
7. Burn The System
8. Undo Everything



Industrial/electro rockers Julien-K, founded by original Orgy members Ryan Shuck and Amir Derakh have released their new album titled Harmonic Disruptor through TLG/INgrooves. The title track off of the album, “Harmonic Disruptor,” was released as a single on January 24th. Their second single “Shut Down Your Soul” dropped on February 28th and the third single “Stronger Without You” dropped on March 20th. The band has also announced the rescheduled dates for their massive national tour with The Birthday Massacre (dates below).

The full album can be bought/streamed at

Harmonic Disruptor is a return to our roots. Not just our early days in the Orgy “Candyass era”, but a return to the music and energy that shaped us. Ministry. Nine In Nails, Broken. Skinny Puppy. Killing Joke. The 90’s. The music that was waking us the fuck up when we were in high school. JKHD is an intense album. During the writing of the album we lost our best friend, Dead By Sunrise bandmate, and co-collaborator Chester Bennington” says the band.

They add, “Harmonic Disruptor took on a brand new meaning. A very tragic and personal meaning. This album became our outlet to deal with the pain of losing Chester – a pain that would have destroyed us otherwise. This was our chance to scream and be angry.”

As already announced,Julien-K will be joined by their legendary original drummer and Dead By Sunrise bandmate, Elias “Bones” Rodriguez.

The band is anticipating a massive excited and inspired core fanbase turnout with the re-addition of OG member “Bones” on a virtually perfect tour pairing with The Birthday Massacre.

Amir Derakh, Ryan Shuck and Anthony “Fu” Valcic have been musical collaborators for 20 years. During their time together they have weaved in and out of mainstream music like a constantly evolving musical fashion house. In the late 90’s to mid 2000’s they were responsible for massive radio and sales hits such as “Blind” (Korn), “Blue Monday”,” Stitches”, and “Fiction” (Orgy), and more recently “Crawl Back In” and “Let Down” (Dead By Sunrise with their close friend Chester Bennington). After enjoying years of traditional music business success, they recently began steering their fans towards their new independent electro-industrial rock project Julien-K – which sounds at home with acts like Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, New Order, Ministry, IAMX, Marilyn Manson, Stabbing Westward, Killing Joke, as well as any act Orgy would have paired with.

“Shut Down Your Soul” Official Video-

“Harmonic Disruptor” Official Lyric Video –

“Stronger Without You” Official Lyric Video-


Adema is a five-piece, rock band from Bakersfield, California consisting of lead singer Ryan Shuck (Orgy, Julien-K, Dead By Sunrise), guitarist Tim Fluckey, guitarist Mike Ransom, bassist Dave DeRoo, and drummer Kris Kohls.

After their first two albums, Adema and Unstable, Mike Ransom left the band in 2003 followed by original singer Mark Chavez later in 2004 due to conflicts between themselves and other members of the band. Luke Caraccioli replaced Chavez in early 2005 for one album, Planets, but then left a few months later in late 2005. In 2006, Adema announced that Bobby Reeves, lead singer of the band LEVEL, was hired to replace Caraccioli. A few months later Ed Faris of the same band was hired to replace Mike Ransom on rhythm guitar. This lineup was short lived as well and only released one album, Kill the Headlights.

In 2007, the remaining original band members were back on good terms with Chavez and Ransom as they “flirted” with the idea of bringing back the original line up. It wasn’t until August 13, 2009, that the original line up was reunited, and Bobby Reeves and Ed Faris agreed to leave the band. Recently Mark Chavez announced that Adema will be more active in 2010 starting with news about two reunion shows in January, a DVD containing live shows performed by the band and never before seen footage, the release of a B-sides record, a tour, and the release of a new album. Since this statement, right before the 2011 Tour Mark Chavez departed the band. Long time guitarist Tim Fluckey has taken over vocal duties. In March 2017 Mark Chavez temporarily returned to the line up, but the reunion was short lived.

Recently, the entire original band reunited, and asked their long time hometown friend and former bandmate Ryan Shuck of Orgy, Julien-K, and Dead By Sunrise notoriety. Adema will be touring North America through DEC 2019 and is looking forward to releasing new music and further touring in 2020.

The band has sold over 1.5 million units worldwide, has 7 music videos, and 4 studio albums.