Watch The “I Am The Highway: A Tribute To Chris Cornell Here

METALLICA and FOO FIGHTERS are among the artists that performed Wednesday night (January 16) at the Chris Cornell tribute concert at the Forum in Los Angeles, California. A number of pop stars also appeared at the event, billed as “I Am The Highway: A Tribute To Chris Cornell”, such as Miley CyrusBrandi CarlileAdam Levine, plus country artist Chris Stapleton and Ziggy Marley.

Rock artists that honored the singer included Josh Homme of QUEENS OF THE STONE AGETim McIlrath of RISE AGAINSTTaylor Momsen from THE PRETTY RECKLESSPerry Farrell of JANE’S ADDICTIONTHE MELVINSBLACK SABBATH‘s Geezer Butler and Ryan Adams, along with members of Cornell‘s bands SOUNDGARDENAUDIOSLAVE and TEMPLE OF THE DOG.

THE MELVINS opened the evening with a three-song set that included a cover of SOUNDGARDEN‘s “Spoonman”, while the FOO FIGHTERS ran through SOUNDGARDEN‘s “No Attention”, plus two songs previously covered by SOUNDGARDENDEVO‘s “Girl U Want” and CHEECH AND CHONG‘s “Earache My Eye”, before closing the set with “Everlong”.

Homme played a solo rendition of SOUNGARDEN‘s “Rusty Cage” while MAROON 5‘s Adam Levine and PEARL JAM‘s Stone Gossard joined forces on “Seasons”, the song Cornellrecorded for the “Singles” soundtrack.

Cyrus sang “As Hope and Promise Fade”, before two of the surviving members of AUDIOSLAVE — guitarist Tom Morello and drummer Brad Wilk — played a five-song set with a rotating lineup of guest singers (Perry Farrell on “Cochise”Juliette Lewis on “Be Yourself”McIlrath on “Set It Off”Carlile on “Like A Stone” and Dave Grohl on “Show Me How To Live”) and bassists (BLACK SABBATH‘s Geezer ButlerMETALLICA‘s Robert Trujillo and JANE’S ADDICTION‘s Chris Chaney).

Introduced by comedian Jack BlackMETALLICA opened its four-song set with a cover of SOUNDGARDEN‘s “All Your Lies”, followed by two of its own classic tracks, “For Whom The Bell Tolls” and “Master Of Puppets”, before closing with SOUNDGARDEN‘s “Head Injury”.

Cornell‘s widow, Vicky, took to the stage to pay tribute to her husband.

“We all know how music can change us, but Chris did something more extraordinary — he changed music and paved the way for so many from Seattle to across the globe,” she said. “And that legacy, and his influence, will live for generations to come. I am so proud that, along with his legacy, his philanthropic work continues to grow and flourish.

Chris would be so very proud. Simply put, to me, and because of all of you, Chris lives on, a music immortal whose passion for helping others is more alive today than ever.”

Chris‘s 14-year-old daughter Toni received a standing ovation after performing a cover of Bob Marley‘s “Redemption Song” while standing in front of a picture of her father.

The show was presented by Cornell‘s family and closest friends, with Jimmy Kimmel hosting.

Each ticket purchased online for the show included a copy of Cornell‘s recently released self-titled career retrospective album.

Chris took his own life in May 2017 after a SOUNDGARDEN show in Detroit.

“I Am The Highway: A Tribute To Chris Cornell” setlist:


01. Kicking Machine
02. With Your Heart
03. Not Your Hands
04. Leech

05. Heart Of Honey
06. SpoonmanRita Wilson

01. The Promise

Nikka Costa and Alain Johannes

01. Disappearing One

Chris Stapleton

01. The Keeper


01. No Attention
02. Earache My Eye
03. Girl You Want
04. Everlong (Acoustic)

Josh Homme

01. Rusty Cage

Adam Levine, Jesse Carmichael, and Stone Gossard

01. Seasons

Miley Cyrus

01. Two Drink Minimum

AUDIOSLAVE (Tom Morello and Brad Wilk)

01. Cochise (with Geezer Butler and Perry Farrell)
02. Be Yourself (with Geezer Butler and Juliette Lewis)
03. Set It Off (with Chris Chaney, Sam Harris and Tim Mcllrath)
04. Like A Stone (with Chris Chaney and Brandi Carlile)
05. Show Me How To Live (with Robert Trujillo and Dave Grohl)

Toni Cornell and Ziggy Marley

01. Redemption Song


01. All Your Lies
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Master of Puppets
04. Head Injury

Ryan Adams (Daphne Chen, Richard Dodd, Eric Gorfain, Leah Katz, and Don Was)

01. Dead Wishes
02. Fell On Black Days


01. Preaching The End Of The World (Nikka Costa, Alain Johannes, Stone Gossard, Brendan O’Brien, and Josh Taylor)
02. Can’t Change Me (Nikka Costa, Alain Johannes, Stone Gossard, Eric Avery, and Josh Freese)
03. Hunted Down (William DuVall, Jerry Cantrell, Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament, and Josh Freese)
04. All Night Thing (Fiona Apple, Brendan O’Brien, David Garza, Jeff Ament, and Matt Chamberlain)
05. Reach Down (Miguel, Nikka Costa, Stone Gossard, Brendan O’Brien, Jeff Ament, and Matt Cameron)
06. Say Hello 2 Heaven (Miley Cyrus, Brendan O’Brien, Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament, and Josh Freese)
07. Hunger Strike (Brandi Carlile, Chris Stapleton, Stone Gossard, Brendan O’Brien, Jeff Ament, and Matt Cameron)


01. Rusty Cage (with Taylor Momsen)
02. Flower (with Marcus Durant)
03. Outshined (with Marcus Durant and Stone Gossard)
04. Drawing Flies (with Taylor Momsen, Buzz Osbourne, Matt Demeritt, and Tracy Wanamae)
05. Loud Love (with Taylor Momsen, Tom Morello, and Wayne Kramer)
06. I Awake (with Taylor Hawkins and Buzz Osbourne)
07. The Day I Tried To Live (with Taylor Hawkins and Buzz Osbourne)
08. Black Hole Sun (with Brandi Carlile, Peter Frampton, Tim Hanseroth, and Phil Hanseroth)

Embedded video

Embedded video

Embedded video

Embedded video

Embedded video

Embedded video

Embedded video